‘Tis the Season – Christmas Music – A First Look

Posted: December 2, 2012 in Celtic Music, Folk Music, Jazz, Rock Music
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

christmas music[5]

So there’s been a minor ongoing struggle at my house for the past decade or so.  My wife thinks the period between Thanksgiving Day and somewhere in mid-January should contain only Christmas music.  I disagree.  My response to this has been to head toward the opposite extreme.  I generally play no Christmas music – except maybe Bruce doing his classic “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town”.  In an effort to broker a cease-fire, last year she bought me Bob Dylan’s Christmas album.  The plan backfired as it is possibly the worst Christmas album ever recorded.   And this is coming from a guy who actually owns a copy of the Jethro Tull Christmas album.  Which actually is great!

So this is my first post of Christmas music and in honor of the season I’ve started to dig up some Christmas tracks by performers other than Johnny Mathis and Nat King Cole.  The bottom line is that I think these are wonderful tunes that just haven’t been played to death on the radio.

I’ll post again on the topic but until then…..

imagesCA2V2SQ2

  1. “Christmas Bells” – John Gorka
  2. “I Saw Three Ships” – Bruce Cockburn
  3. “An Irish Christmas” – Eileen Ivers
  4. “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” – Jethro Tull
  5. “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” / “White Christmas” – Jimmy Smith
  6. “Merry Christmas, Baby” – Ray Charles
  7. “That What Christmas Means To Me” – Stevie Wonder

Videos

Comments
  1. Art Lieberman says:

    My Christmas favorite: Mannheim Steamroller – “Deck the Halls”

  2. Personally, I think the Dylan album has a certain charm!
    The Jethro Tull and Blackmore’s Night Christmas albums are popular in our house, as is the Tori Amos album. Still have a soft spot for the old crooners though, and jazzed up versions of Jingle Bells and Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer!

Leave a Reply

