The 55th Grammy Awards – Tim’s Picks

Posted: February 7, 2013 in Blues, Folk Music, Rock Music
Tags: , , , ,

grammys

This weekend marks the telecast of the 55th Grammy Awards presentation on Sunday night.  I still watch them every year and will admit that every year I seem to find an artist who I had miscategorized in some way and didn’t give enough attention (or respect to). A good example of this was Lady Gaga a few years back.  I hadn’t heard her music, I knew she wore outrageous costumes (apparently even just to go to 7-11 for a burrito), and I had mistakenly assumed she was some sort of Britney Spears type that was more about choreographed dance numbers than the music.  I was dead wrong about her and although I’m not her biggest fan I recognize her as a very talented musician. I also love her duet with Tony Bennett.  Fantastic!

So here are my picks for this years awards…I’ll check back in next week to see how I’ve done.

In the meantime, feel free to comment with your own picks (before Sunday night that is) and we’ll see how you do. 

I know, I want to pick songs and artists that weren’t nominated too but dems the rules.  8-)

Tim’s 2012 Grammy Picks

Record of the Year  – Lonely Boy – The Black Keys

Album of the Year – Babel – Mumford and Sons

Song of the Year – Call Me Maybe – Tavish Crowe, Carly Rae Jepsen & Josh Ramsay, songwriters (Carly Rae Jepsen)

Best New Artist – Frank Ocean

Best Pop Solo Performance – Set Fire to the Rain (Live) – Adele

Best Rock Performance – We Take Care of Our Own – Bruce Springsteen

Best Rock Album – Wrecking Ball – Bruce Springsteen

 

Videos

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. John says:

    Would really love to see the Lumineers take “Best New Artist”, but I agree that Frank Ocean will probably win just based on exposure.

Leave a Reply

