Do You Remember Bob Romanus?

Posted: March 5, 2013 in Alt-Folk, Folk Music
Tags: , , ,

At first glance, Bob’s name didn’t ring a bell at all.  But after I connected the name to a face I realized I had seen him many times in the film “Fast Times at Ridgemont High“.    You remember “Fast Times”.  Jennifer Jason Leigh,  Judge Reinhold, Sean Penn, and Ray Walston.  And Bob Romanus as Mike Damone, the HS ticket scalper.  (I always thought Ray stole the show in that film.  He nailed the high school teacher role perfectly…but I digress.)

Here’s Bob – then and now.

bob1bob 2

For a while now Bob and his musical partner Steve Feldman have been creating folk tunes under the group name “Poppa’s Kitchen“.  They’ve been at it for decades and play mostly around the Los Angeles area.

I gave their tunes a listen and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the songs. These guys have soul and an ear for turning out great tunes.

I found myself happy to listen to them, I liked their style, and I found myself pleased that Bob did find a great musical partner in Steve and did find a calling after the fame of “Fast Times”.  Good luck to him (and to Steve).

369464_843314485_543707295_n

The tracks reminded me a lot of one of my favorite folkies Greg Brown (Milk of the Moon) with a touch of Johnny Cash added in. I added in a Greg Brown clip mostly because I haven’t posted much about him yet.

You can find out more about Poppa’s Kitchen, Bob Romanus, and Steve Feldman here:  http://poppaskitchen.com/

Videos

Comments
  1. Psy-Ko says:

    Met him a couple years back at a convention. Such a nice guy! He signed my Van Halen ticket and crossed out the $75 and wrote in $12.50 (I wish it had cost that!) I got his CD too. Usually listen to metal but I’m versatile and gave it a spin. Loved it! You know he has a coffee shop in L.A. now? Wrong coast and I hate coffee but otherwise I’d go there! ;)

Leave a Reply

